MEMBER LOGIN

DON'T HAVE AN ACCOUNT?

Register & Login HERE

Here at AUTHORSdB we've formed the only database of authors, including social media, book listings and much more, for today's mine-field of thousands of aspiring and established writers.

We are a dedicated website that helps authors for free.

Author Blogs

Syndicated blogs on AUTHORSdb

What is a Poet Laureate?


Poet Laureates originated with the ancient Greeks and Romans when poetic achievement was honoured by a crown of laurels (the laurel tree being sacred to the god Apollo, the patron of poets. The title was first granted in England in the seventeenth century. James the First gave the playwright and poet, Ben Jonson, a pension from 1616, but the first poet to hold the title was John Dryden who was granted the position for life, as were all his successors until Andrew Motion. He took the post in 1999 for a set time of ten years. He was followed by Carol Ann Duffy (the first woman laureate) in 2009, and her replacement, Simon Armitage, has just been appointed to replace her. Famous poets from the ...
Continue reading

Release Blitz – Sara Butler Zalesky

Today, I’m interviewing author Sara Butler Zalesky, and she shares  writing her latest series Wheeler. Don’t forget to enter the Rafflecopter giveaway. **** What inspired you to write this book? It was June of 2015 and I was watching the Aviva Women’s Tour in England while working on an indoor cycling profile for my Tour … Continue reading Original link Original author: Maggie Blackbird

The Car


        Good morning and welcome to Sunday Blog Share. This month, our focus will be on mysteries. Today, we’re talking about The Car, a mystery that moves between the present and the past, a crime that took nearly a century to solve.   The Roaring Twenties—a time of bathtub gin, of speakeasies, and a couple yearning to wed despite their families animosity toward each other. Mark and Belinda Sue attempt their escape, only to be thwarted in 1929. In 2017, Belinda Susannah makes a startling discovery, a 1929 Essex Coupe, once a sought after luxury car, with a tree growing out of it. What secrets does this car hold? Why is it abandoned along a rarely traveled road in the Sonoran Desert?   Blurb...
Continue reading

FEATURED AUTHOR: GRACE TOPPING


ABOUT THE BOOK Laura Bishop just nabbed her first decorating commission—staging for sale a 19th-century mansion that hasn’t been updated for decades. But when a body falls from a laundry chute and lands at Laura’s feet, removing flowered wallpaper becomes the least of her duties. To clear her young assistant of the murder and save her fledgling business, Laura’s determined to find the killer. Turns out it’s not as easy as renovating a manor home, especially with two handsome men complicating her mission: the police detective assigned to the case and the real estate agent trying to save the manse from foreclosure. Worse still, the meddling of a horoscope-guided friend, a determined grandmothe...
Continue reading

Pre-Orders Being Taken NOW…

Ultimate Final Cover Forevers Too Long GIMP
Welcome to the first solo novel of Helen Krummenacker, co-author of the Para-Earth Series. Adventure, humor, film noir, and dark urban fantasy blend in a unique vision that will appeal to fans of Harry Dresden or Marvel’s horror comics. Enter the world of The Forever Detective Series… Raphael Jones’ love of adventure took him into police work, military service, and finally a career as a private eye. But when his first couple of cases combine to drop him into deep trouble, can his sense of adventures survive? For that matter, can he? A practical man with a kind heart, he never expected to encounter supernatural evil threatening the people he cares about. “I was reading along enjoying the Raym...
Continue reading

Sample Saturday: In The Eye of The Storm

Eye Of The Storm Cover_revised
Hi, everyone. I had a great time celebrating the 10th anniversary of In The Eye of The Beholder during April. However, this year is also the 5th anniversary of its award-winning sequel, In The Eye of The Storm. This week’s excerpt sets the tale. October 1948 San Francisco, California Clarice waited quietly in Sam Wo’s restaurant; her friends would be joining her any time now, just as they did the first Saturday of every month, for lunch. When Clarice first sought permission to join some of the other senior class girls at their luncheon club, Daddy quizzed her extensively. Yet, it was her mother whose expression softened when Clarice mentioned the name of the funny little restaurant where the...
Continue reading

One Paperback’s Life Story Born in the Land of POD

one paperback's life story
This is one paperback’s life story. That paperback is me. Some eggheads may call me an inanimate object. Nothing could be further from the truth. I’m a book – paperback book to be precise. And I have recently discovered I’m quite a special book. Taraah! That was a drum roll in case you didn’t hear […] The post One Paperback’s Life Story Born in the Land of POD appeared first on Stephen Bentley . Original link

Author Cheryl Holloway

Today, I’m hosting author Cheryl Holloway.  We are spotlighting her three books June’s Double Rainbow, The Proposal, and Love’s Ride.  Don’t forget to enter the Rafflecopter giveaway. **** A little bit about me.  First and foremost, I am a writer and I firmly believe, ‘writers write.’ I have been writing for many years, now. My … Continue reading Original link Original author: Maggie Blackbird

#Spring Into #Reading Authors & Bloggers #Giveaway! $72 #Cash #Grand #Prize! #Free To #Enter!


Hey Everyone!! :-) There's a new giveaway for Spring!  Please take a moment to check out the Spring Into Reading Authors & Bloggers Giveaway!!  There are lots of awesome books and prizes!! :-)  It's free to enter, there are over 40 prizes, and the grand prize is $72 cash payable through PayPal!! :-)  Now isn't that worth taking a few minutes to check out? ;-)   Here are all the details: a Rafflecopter giveaway Thank you so much for stopping by today!  And don't forget to check back tomorrow for the next installment of Mistral Dawn's Musings! :-) Original link

Without light, you cannot begin to appreciate darkness


Michael laid a hand against the door. Its lacquer finish failed to protect the wood stain from fading, after years of exposure to the elements. He pressed down the rusty handle. With a screech of its hinges, the door swung open. “Hello! Anyone home?” he called, feeling awkward for invading a private space, but crossing the threshold all the same. A damp sensation crept around the corners and over the moldy walls. Shadows stirred, yet when you turned to look back at them, they seemed to freeze. Every now and then there came a sound, like that of a finger scraping against a stone floor. Was it a lizard slipping back into a crack? A bug crawling underfoot?  A mound of small clay models appeared...
Continue reading

Mid-life crisis with giant robot


I have often written in the past about the impact that the first series of Mobile Suit Gundam had on my generation and on me in particular. I think the best evidence of how much it impacted me is the fact that I am still watching the cartoons – no longer as a start-struck teenager, not as an otaku (I never was that), but with an eye to narrative structure, themes, character arcs, patterns. It was a story with a large cast, that mixed action and politics, high tech and melodrama, and that maybe for the first time (certainly for the first time for me) portrayed war as something traumatic instead of romantic. And a few minutes ago I was discussing with my brother how much I’d like to be able to...
Continue reading

OWS CYCON GIVEAWAY


 Less than a week until OWS CyCon 2019 - but the giveaway is LIVE now!  Try your luck - lots of book prizes to be won!   https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/c814a17c1/ For insider news and subscriber-only info, subscribe to my occasional Newsletter. I promise not to spam and your in-box will only see an email from me every 3 or 4 months or so - unless of course I have something really Newsworthy to share! I also promise that I never have and never will share your information or email address with anyone or any organisation.  http://madmimi.com/signups/196357/join Original link Original author: Hywela

Underrated Link Building Tactics that Work Surprisingly Well


Attract the Right Job or Clientele: Note:   Oscar Florea, PR Specialist, Spiralytics provides today’s guest blog, Underrated Link Building Tactics that work surprisingly well.. Oscar Florea is Spiralytics’ “wisest” Online PR Specialist. His outstanding relationship building skills have been honed by years of experience. His fame is in  helping companies of many industries to manage their brand image. This guy eats strategic outreach for breakfast! _______ Underrated Link Building Tactics that Work Surprisingly Well Since the inception of search engine optimization, link building has been one of the key ranking factors for websites.  The goal is for them to appear higher in search engine resu...
Continue reading

TAKE IT TO THE LIMIT


Source: snappedbyjc     Take the night to the limit. The road to its end. The sun to its setting. Life to its climax. Leaving no stone unturned. No drama left undone. No sentence left unsaid. Take the night to the limit. Original link Original author: Susanne Leist

A PERFECT OASIS


Source: billionaires-road     A perfect oasis where dreams come true. Palm trees wave their arms in the warm breeze. Birds sing a happy tune above the blue. Until the night exhales its cold breath. Torrents of wind dig through the white sand. Where dark shadows leave no footprints. And tourists remain innocent no more. THE DEAD GAME http://amzn.to/1lKvMrP    http://bit.ly/1lFdqNj Original link Original author: Susanne Leist

IN THE RED SKY


Source: weheartit.com     A sliver in the red sky Sparkling in its own right. Higher than the birds can fly, Stars bow to its greater might. Original link Original author: Susanne Leist

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY

Wishes from The Dead Game Series
    Happy Mother’s Day from THE DEAD GAME SERIES and Susanne Leist A bloody sweet day where your wishes and fantasies come true.     Original link Original author: Susanne Leist

Author photos

I was thinking of doing a post like this, but LitHub did it first, and better: Author Photos: A Taxonomy Original link

Getting to know the Clydesdales


Today we’ll talk about Clydesdale horses. Do you know what they look like? They’re really tall and hefty fellows (and girls). They’re the horses you see pulling wagons in Budweiser beer commercials. They are also usually featured during the superbowl football games. Do you know how horses are measured? They’re height is determined by how many “hands” high they are. Each hand is four inches. If you have a Clydesdale horse who measures 18.2 hands that would be 74 inches.   Clydesdales are sometimes called “Draft Horses” because they’re very good at pulling heavy loads. They can haul things or pull wagons and it’s no trouble at all for them. What colors are they? Clydesdales are usually brown, ...
Continue reading

OWS CyCon 2019


  I'm really looking forward to taking part in this on-line Convention next week. There are several genres, not just science fiction and it looks like a brilliant event, with something for everyone I'm taking part in several events, including 'cover wars' and character battles (I do hope I can count on your vote, I will be posting reminders😉) and the 'World building Showcase'.  I'll be posting more info on this blog over the next week. For insider news and subscriber-only info, subscribe to my occasional Newsletter. I promise not to spam and your in-box will only see an email from me every 3 or 4 months or so - unless of course I have something really Newsworthy to share! I also promise that...
Continue reading